605 679 4470

State Trial Practice

Under the South Dakota Constitution, there are three branches of state government, legislative, executive and judicial, which operate within a constitutional system. The state circuit courts are the trial courts of the state system. Within limits set by the Legislature and the State Constitution, the circuit courts have jurisdiction to hear nearly all categories of state cases, including both civil and criminal matters. The attorneys at HPS have experience with litigation at every level of the state court system.